SUGGESTED USA PICKLEBALL RULE CHANGES FOR 2025

Rule change submissions will close on May 15th, 2024, at 11:59 PM. Comments on the existing rule change submissions will remain open until May 31st, 2024, at 11:59 PM.

Rule Submission TitleRemoval of 9.D. which is in conflict with 9.B
Existing Rule #9.D
Proposed Rule Change

Removal of 9.D.

Players should not be allowed to touch the NVZ during their act of volleying.

Original Rule Text

9.D. If a player has touched the non-volley zone for any reason,
that player cannot volley a return until both feet have made
contact with the playing surface completely outside the nonvolley zone. A maneuver such as standing within the nonvolley zone, jumping up to hit a volley, and then landing
outside the non-volley zone is a fault. If the rear wheels of a
wheelchair have touched the non-volley zone for any reason,
the player using a wheelchair cannot volley a return until
both rear wheels have made contact with the playing surface
outside the non-volley zone.

Reasoning Behind Suggested Change

A player should not be allowed to touch the NVZ during their act of volleying. Note that the "act of volleying" includes the swing, the volley, and the momentum after the volley. Rule 9.B makes it a fault if ANYTHING makes contact with the zone during the act of volleying.  Example. The volleyer bumps their partner into the zone during their swing to the volley. The swing of the volley makes the volleyer's hat fly off and bounce into the zone. The volleyer's watch flies off during the swing to the volley and lands/bounces into the zone.  The volleyer scrapes the zone with their paddle before committing the volley. In all these cases, it is a fault on the volleyer regardless if anyone's feet have "re-established".  Why should the volleyer's feet be any different?  Why should the volleyer be allowed to touch the zone with their feet to aid in their act of volleying? Why are the feet the exception to rule 9.B?  Why are 9.B and 9.D in conflict?

The removal of 9.D. would make it consistent across the board that you cannot touch the zone during the swing, the volley, or the momentum.  It is a fault, across the board, if the volleyer touches the zone at any point during their act of volleying.

Scenarios In Which the Rules Applies

Player starts their swing to a volley but touches the zone with their foot. Once the player volleys, the referee calls a fault because they touched the zone during their act of volleying.

Rule Book Year2025
Rule Change ID1741
Date CreatedMay 7, 2024
Add Comment Add Comment
View Comments View Comments