Rule Submission TitleBackspin Rule Clarification
Rule Book Year2022
Date CreatedJune 26, 2021
Rule Change ID169
Existing Rule #7.C
Original Rule Text

7.C. Hitting the ball under the net or between the net and the net post.

Proposed Rule Change

7.C. Hitting the ball under the net or between the net and the net post, unless the ball first contacts the opponent's court.

Reasoning Behind Suggested Change

A ball that hits the opponent's court, then either spins back or is blown back towards the net and passes through the gap between the post and the net or under the net is currently a fault on the striking player.  Rule 7.C should be clarified so it is not a fault.

USAP rules committee notes: This can be a casebook entry

IFP Voting StatusAverage: 8.6 Detail:7,8,8,10,8,10,9
View Comments View Comments