SUGGESTED USA PICKLEBALL RULE CHANGES FOR 2025

Rule Submission TitleNasty Nelson
Existing Rule #4.A.3.
Proposed Rule Change

4.A.3. If the serve clears the net or contacts the net in crossing and then touches the receiver or the receiver’s partner before bouncing, it is a point for the serving team.

Original Rule Text

If the serve clears the net or contacts the net in crossing and then touches the receiver or the receiver’s partner, it is a point for the serving team.

Reasoning Behind Suggested Change

Not a fault if the serves bounces outside the proper service court and then hits a receiving team member.

Scenarios In Which the Rules Applies

Served ball lands (bounces) outside the designated service court and is caught or touched by the receiving team.

Rule Book Year2025
Rule Change ID1470
Date CreatedMarch 21, 2024
Add Comment Add Comment
View Comments View Comments