SUGGESTED USA PICKLEBALL RULE CHANGES FOR 2025

Rule Submission TitleRelease Not Visible Clarification
Existing Rule #4.A.6
Proposed Rule Change

4.A.6 In officiated matches, the server’s release of the ball must be visible to the referee and receiver. In matches without a referee, the server’s release of the ball must be visible to the receiver. There is no fault if the release is not visible to the referee or receiver. For officiated matches, if the release is not visible to either the referee or the receiver, either may call for a replay before the return of serve. In matches without a referee, the receiver may call for a replay before the return of serve.

Original Rule Text

4.A.6 In officiated matches, the server’s release of the ball must be visible to the referee and receiver. In matches without a referee, the server’s release of the ball must be visible to the receiver. There is no fault if the release is not visible to the referee or receiver.

Reasoning Behind Suggested Change

The current structure of the rule provides what the penalty is not if the ball is not visible; i.e., it is not a fault. It does not, however, provide what is the penalty. For that reason, the current rule is inconsistent with the Rule-writing Principle #2 in the Appendix to the Rulebook, to wit: (Rules should): “Be written with a deterministic focus… If something is not allowed or should not happen, the consequences (for example replay, fault, technical warning, etc.) should be provided as part of the rule.”

 

The suggested change to 4.A.6 appropriately provides what the penalty is if the release is not visible.

Scenarios In Which the Rules Applies

n/a

Rule Book Year2025
Rule Change ID1455
Date CreatedMarch 16, 2024
Add Comment Add Comment
View Comments View Comments