|Rule Submission Title||Overriding Player Line Calls|
|Existing Rule #||6.D.12|
|Proposed Rule Change|
6.D.12. After the completion of a rally, players may override a partner’s "out" line call
|Original Rule Text|
6.D.12. After the completion of a rally, players may overrule a partner's line call, an officiating team's line call, or an opponent's "in" call to their own disadvantage.
|Reasoning Behind Suggested Change|
Officials are used for tournament play to make unbiased and more accurate calls than players. A player moving on the court will not have a better view of a ball than a stationary official (line judge or referee) or an official reviewing a video replay in slow motion. Therefore, players should not be allowed to override line calls made by the officiating team. Allowing a player to override an accurate call made by an official is not fair play and can result in players influencing the results of a game/match. It also defeats the purpose of the officiating team.
|Scenarios In Which the Rules Applies|
A line judge makes an "out" call on a ball that lands close to the line. Team A loses the rally but pleads to Team B that the ball was "in." To avoid argument with Team A or to appear gracious, Team B concedes the rally so Team A doesn't lose the rally.
|Rule Book Year||2024|
|Rule Change ID||1213|
|Date Created||May 15, 2023|
|View Comments||View Comments|