|Rule Submission Title||Rule 11.N One Paddle|
|USAP Board Vote||Failure Confirmed|
|USAP Rules Committee Vote||Failed|
|USAP Rules Committee Vote Reason||The literal meaning of the current rule is appropriate and should stand. A player cannot carry two paddles at any time during a rally for any reason. The rule does not prohibit a player from tossing their paddle to their partner and retrieving the dropped paddle.|
|Existing Rule #||11N|
|Proposed Rule Change|
11.N. One Paddle. A player shall not use or carry more than one paddle during a rally. A violation of this rule is a fault. Exception: A player may quickly pick up and return their partner's paddle that has dropped to the ground. They may not strike the ball when holding both paddles.
|Original Rule Text|
11.N. One Paddle. A player shall not use or carry more than one paddle during a rally. A violation of this rule is a fault.
|Reasoning Behind Suggested Change|
The way the current rule is written a player picking up a partner's dropped paddle and handing it to his partner would be in violation of this rule.
|Rule Book Year||2024|
|Rule Change ID||1080|
|Date Created||April 25, 2023|
|View Comments||View Comments|